Baked Apples

I’m sure it’s obvious I love my apples. My absolute favorite way to eat them is sliced with peanut butter. The peanut butter I use is Smucker’s Natural Chunky. It is $2.98/lb at Walmart. The only two ingredients are peanuts and less than one percent salt. I like that.

I kind of have a thing about ingredient lists. If I can’t pronounce it, I won’t eat it. I am very good at pronouncing things. but when I see something that looks like this: “skdjfhdkjvnerkgsusajekgjbekfj serkidfkjfskjf 30 dkjhkjsf”, no thanks. And pretty much, even if I can pronounce it, I probably won’t eat it. Meat, eggs, butter, whole cream, coconut milk, nut milk, vegetables, fruits… that’s all we eat. No legumes. So no green beans. And really, I’m not supposed to eat peanut butter, because peanuts are a legume. But… but I love peanut butter 😦

Anyhow, Alex likes baked apples. We can’t eat regular pie, and I haven’t yet been brave enough to try making a walnut crust. I have made walnut meal brownies that were simple divine, though, so maybe I should try the crust. So I make pie filling, aka baked apples.

Most pie fillings/baked apples call for 20 kinds of sugar and ten million spices and all kinds of cornstarch and thickeners. Ew. Mine is simple.

Ingredients:
One whole stick salted sweet cream butter. Real butter.
apples
however much apple pie spice you like

Method:
1. Preheat your oven to 350. Using an apple corer, cut your apples. This is the only time I use my corer, because it’s annoying and I have absolutely no upper body strength. But you want to use the corer for this one so you have pretty uniform wedges. Peel the wedges.
2. In a small skillet, melt half the stick of butter. Keep the heat on about 3-4. Any higher and your butter will burn.
3. Line a 2″ deep square baking dish with foil. Put the apples in the dish, and our the melted butter on top.
4. Add apple pie spice and mix it all up, evenly coating the apples. Be careful not to tear the foil. I always manage to tear mine in the square dishes. Never fails. No idea why.
5. If it looks like your spice is a little lacking, go ahead and add more. Just put however much you like. Spices are good for you.
6. Once you’re satisfied with how much spice is in there, make sure it’s all mixed and nice, then start thinly slicing the remaining half stick of butter and placing the slices on top of the apples.
7. Cover the dish with foil, doming it so that the foil is not touching the apples. Bake for 25 minutes.
8. Stir the apples up, and bake for another 25 minutes. After this second time, check for softness. If you like them a little crunchier, take them out. If you like them super soft, leave them in there until they are.
9. Eat them while they’re hot. And don’t you dare throw out that nice spiced butter sauce. Eat that too. It’s yum-delicious and good for you.

I do love my apples.

2 thoughts on “Baked Apples

Let's talk about it!

