Crock Pot Applesauce

I like to buy a bag of apples and a set of bananas every week. I love apples. Sometimes, though, apples are not all they appear to be. Usually they are nice, crisp, slightly cool, sweet, juicy, and delicious. Sometimes, they’re… not. I recently bought a bag of apples that turned out to be pretty much inedible, no matter how much peanut butter I put on them. Making raw applesauce was out of the question since it wouldn’t hide the nasty flavor, and I had recently made my baked apples, so I was at a loss on what to do. I didn’t want to just throw them away, but I haven’t been able to start container gardening yet so I couldn’t compost them either. Then, when I was doing the week’s meal plan, I came across a recipe for chunky applesauce made in the crock pot. I thought to myself, perfect! It will definitely help hide the flavor, and even if it’s not the best applesauce ever, it will at least be edible. Which is all I really wanted at this point.

Original Recipe: found here
6 medium apples, peeled and cut into chunks
1/3 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

Now, I like to stay away from sugar. It has no real nutritional value. It’s kind of a drug. Definitely habit forming. Plus, Alex won’t eat it. So I modified it a bit.

My Recipe:
as many apples as you have (I think I had about nine)
water to cover the bottom of the crock pot
as much apple pie spice as you like

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not big on measurements. So just put as much spice as you think you will like into the crock pot.

Method:
1. Core, slice, and peel the apples. I just cut the sides off and peeled those, rather than messing with the dreaded apple corer. It’s all getting mashed up anyway, so what do I care if they look pretty?
2. Throw the apples into the crock pot. Put the crock pot on LOW.
3. Add water to cover the bottom of the pot. Add apple pie spice. Stir to mix together and evenly coat the apples with spice.
4. Cook for 8 hours on LOW. Of course, you will want to stir this from time to time. Kind of smack them with the edge of the spoon when stirring to see if they’re soft enough to mash into sauce, or chop into smaller pieces. The eight hours is a guideline. If you want your sauce chunkier, then cook less time. Of course, the firmness of the flesh of the apples will help determine how long they cook as well.

Enjoy! And never throw nasty apples away again!

Let's talk about it!

