“Riced” Cauliflower

Rice. It’s one of those four letter words in our house. Not a healthy food. Not at all. Alex and I eat a wheat and grain free diet. Rice is practically nonexistent in our meals. Once in a while, like in my chicken fried rice, we do use it. But hardly ever. When I make curry, which I do quite often, we eat “riced” cauliflower.

A lot of people don’t like cauliflower. I don’t. Or didn’t, until I learned how to cook it. You have to steam it. Except in this one curry I make. But anyway.

You could just process the raw florets and forgo the steaming, if you would prefer. I have done it both ways. If I plan to add the “rice” to the pot while I’m cooking something, I do it raw. Otherwise, I steam and then process.

Ingredients:
cauliflower

Method:
1. Fill a large pot that has a lid with about one inch of water. Make sure this is the same water you drink – the cauliflower will take on the flavor of regular tap water.
2. In a large bowl, put water about halfway deep. This water doesn’t matter. It’s just to wash the cauliflower. Cut off the leaves of the cauliflower, and put it into the water. Soak the cauliflower for at least five minutes on each side to allow the water to get into all the little nooks and crannies.
3. Put a steamer basket or a metal wire mesh strainer over the top of your pot. Make sure the bottom of the basket or strainer is about one to two inches above the surface of the water.
4. Using kitchen scissors, cut the cauliflower florets off and pop them into the basket/strainer. You can add the stems too, if you want.
5. Put the lid on the pot, and bring the water to a boil. Keep the water boiling with the lid on crooked so that steam can escape until the florets are just fork tender.
6. Break out the food processor. Put the florets in and pulse about 3-4 times. The result should be cauliflower that now looks similar to rice.

You can eat it just fresh from the processor, or dehydrate it first. Alex prefers it dehydrated. To do this, I just spread the “rice” out on large plates, and press it dry with paper towels. Then I line freezer bags with fresh paper towels, fill the bags with the “rice”, and refrigerate it for 30 minutes-2 days.

To serve, just use it like you would use rice. I’m not sure how it would be with roast and gravy, but it is marvelous in curry. The cauliflower really takes on the flavor of the sauce.

Let's talk about it!

