Roasted Brains, or Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I grew up eating Brussels sprouts. My mom was a hippie but also kind of a dork, and she called them martian brains. So they’re just brains to me. Alex hasn’t caught on yet, so every time I write ‘brains’ on the grocery list and walk to produce he has no freakin’ clue what I’m looking for. And he calls ME a dork. Now, most people don’t like Brussels sprouts. Personally, I think they’re flippin’ awesome. But I also like spinach, and I know at least five billion people who don’t. So there we go. I think the main issue is how they’re cooked. There are a million and one ways of doing this, but they aren’t all right. This one, though, this one is good.

I definitely ripped this recipe off from the Primal Blueprint Cookbook by Mark Sisson and Jennifer Meier. So basically I’m going to give you the link to buy the book and see excerpts from it and check out the website that started all this craziness in my life (well, that and food allergies) right here, and then give you the recipe straight from it, then say what I did differently. Which wasn’t much. At all.

M’kay, nevermind. this is the website that started all the craziness. The other one is just the books and stuff. Which are great. Check them out.

These Brussels sprouts are both Alex and Kitty approved. Seriously. Kitty stole some off my plate. She went nuts for them. So you know they’re good if a cat will eat them. Because cats don’t eat veggies. They can’t even digest them.

Brussels Sprouts with Browned Butter and Hazelnuts

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons butter, preferably unsalted
1 pound Brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered
1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts
3 tablespoons water

Instructions:
Position rack in bottom third of oven; preheat to 450.

Place butter on a rimmed baking pan that is large enough for the Brussels sprouts to roast in a single layer or else they will steam instead of roasting if too crowded. Roast until the butter is melted, browned and fragrant, 4 to 6 minutes.

Remove the baking sheet from the oven; toss Brussels sprouts and hazelnuts with the browned butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Return to the oven and roast for 7 minutes. Remove briefly and sprinkle with water; toss, then continue roasting until the sprouts are tender and lightly browned, about 7 to 9 minutes more.

Serve immediately. Goes especially well with roast meat or roast fowl.

When I made these, I used salted sweet cream butter, the same butter I tell you to use in every other recipe. I use unsalted only sometimes. I also took out the hazelnuts, because neither of us are giant hazelnut fans. Hazelnuts remind me of really crappy tasting coffee. Other than that, though, it is the same. So like I said, practically no differenced.

I have served these with my curry and spice whole chicken, a nice red wine braised roast that I’ll get around to posting about at some point, and steaks, which I’ll get around to posting about sometime. I have a whole long post about steaks writing itself in my head. Steaks are so delicate. So easy to ruin. And since we actually don’t buy steak, I just make… steak… well, I’ll tell you how at some point.

These sprouts are good. I wish I’d snapped a picture of Kitty eating them. But Alex shooed her away so she wouldn’t get sick. And she kept coming back, with her little paws, catching one on her claws, nibbling, we shooed her away again, she came back with her pitiful meows and little paws to steal more. You’d think we didn’t buy her special expensive yummy food that’s good for her and give her chicken and salmon and tuna and beef with the way she carried on over these sprouts.

So go eat them. If my cat will, you will. Or should. Whatever.

Let's talk about it!

